Session Office

January 18 - April 15

  • Phone: 907.465.3777
  • Fax: 907.465.2819

  • State Capitol, Room 514
    Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Interim Office

April 20 - January 15

  • Phone: 907.694.8944
  • Fax: 907.694.1015

  • 12641 Old Glenn Hwy Suite 201
  • Eagle River AK, 99577


Your Name *
Your Email *

Please type the letter and
numbers shown below:

Captcha Code


Follow, Like and Learn more about Senator Fairclough on her Facebook Page >>

In the News

Alaska's revenue roller coaster has lawmakers planning 'rainy day' strategy

A new study says that Alaska has the most volatile state revenues in the nation, with income fluctuating more than twice as much as that of its nearest...
Media Outlet

Parnell signs Knik Arm Crossing bill into law

By the time the crossing is built in about five years, there will be 100,000 more vehicles using the Glenn Highway, said Republican Sen Anna Fairclough,...
Media Outlet

Fairclough on what’s next for Alaska LNG

Another round of energy bills have passed but Sen Anna Fairclough’s job as the Legislative Budget & Audit chair, plus Resources and Finance...
Media Outlet

State One Step Closer to Getting Alaska’s Gas to Alaskans

Tuesday the Alaska State Senate passed historic legislation to create the framework for the State to take an equity share in the Alaska Liquefied...
Media Outlet

Personal Profile

Anna Fairclough



Anna Fairclough is a lifelong Alaskan. She has lived in Eagle River since 1985 and has two sons, Cory and Garret. Anna studied finance at the University of Alaska after graduating from Service High School in Anchorage. She served on the Anchorage Assembly for seven years prior to being elected to the Alaska State House of Representatives in 2006. In 2012, she was elected to the State Senate and represents District M which includes a portion of downtown Eagle River, Hiland Road, South Fork Valley, Eagle River Valley and East Anchorage (south of DeBarr Road, and east of Baxter).

Before her election to the House of Representatives, Anna was the Executive Director of STAR - Standing Together Against Rape. For the past six years, she served as the Development Director for Hospice of Anchorage.

Anna has been active in numerous community organizations over the years including service on; the Anchorage Assembly as past Chair and Vice Chair, the Mayor's 9/11 Task Force, was the AMATS Assembly Liaison, served on the National Sexual Violence & Resource Committee (NSVRC) and is a founding board member of the Alaska Veterans Museum.

Anna currently serves on the Senate Finance Committee as vice-chair and chairs the Budget Subcommittees of the University of Alaska, the Department of Administration and the Department of Revenue. She is chair of the Legislative Budget and Audit Committee and is a member of the Joint Armed Services Committee, Resources, TAPS Throughput and Transportation committees.

District M, Republican


  • Graduate of Service High School, Anchorage, Alaska
  • Studied Finance at UAA & UAF

Alaska State Senate:

  • Chair, Legislative Budget & Audit Committee: 2013 – present
  • Vice-Chair, Senate Finance Committee: 2013 – present
  • Senate Resources Committee: 2013 – present
  • Senate Transportation Committee: 2013 – present
  • Senate TAPS Throughput Committee: 2013 – present
  • Joint Armed Services Committee: 2013 – present

Alaska State House of Representatives 2007-2012:

  • Chair, House Special Committee on Fiscal Policy: 2011 - 2012
  • Vice-Chair, House Finance Committee: 2011-2012
  • Co-Chair, House Community & Regional Affairs Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • Co-Chair, Anchorage Caucus: 2007 - 2008
  • Vice-Chair, House Ways & Means Special Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • House Finance Committee: 2009 - 2012
  • House Health, Education & Social Services Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • House Resources Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • House Rules Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • House Transportation Committee: 2007 - 2008
  • House Military & Veterans’ Affairs Special Committee: 2007 - 2008

Other Political and Government Positions:

  • Co-Chair of the Labor and Economic Development Committee for NCSL: 2011 - 2012
  • Women in Government, State Director: 2007 - 2013
  • Chair, Energy Task Force: 2008 - 2010
  • National Sexual Violence & Resource Center: 2003 - 2010
  • Chair, CDVSA Task Force: 2007 - 2008
  • Anchorage Assembly: 1999 - 2007
  • AMATS Assembly Liaison

Business and Professional Positions:

  • Development Director for Hospice of Anchorage: 2007 - 2013
  • Former Executive Director, STAR - Standing Together Against Rape
  • United Food & Commercial Workers, Local 1496, Membership Services

Service Organizations and Community Involvement:

  • Founding Board Member, Alaska Veterans Museum
  • Anchorage Republican Women
  • Chugiak/Eagle River Chamber of Commerce
  • National Sexual Violence Resource Center, Former Advisory Board Member
  • Chugiak Senior Center, Lifetime Member
  • Commonwealth North
Personal Legislation

Senate Bill 129

Senate Bill 129 extends the termination date of the Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers.  The board is made up of five members appointed by the governor and confirmed by the legislature, and membership is designed to appropriately represent the real estate appraiser industry. The board is responsible for establishing examination specifications for certification as a real estate appraiser, adopting rules of professional conduct to establish and maintain a high standard of integrity in the real estate appraisal profession, and adopting regulations necessary to carry out the purposes of statutes. An audit from the Division of Legislative Budget and Audit performed in June of 2013 recommended that the Board be extended for four years. 

Senate Bill 132

Senate Bill 132 will allow Alaskans over the age of 65 to more easily take advantage of the vehicle registration fee exemption available to them by removing the requirement that the person be 65 at the start of the year of registration, instead simply requiring them to be 65 at the time of registration

Senate Bill 195

Senate Bill 195 makes both substantive and housekeeping changes to statutes regarding the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education and the Alaska Student Loan Corporation. These changes include allowing the commission to set favorable terms for borrowers, increase the total loan limit a student may borrow, and define “on-time” status for a student to reach completion.

The changes proposed in Senate Bill 195 will allow the commission to better assist Alaskans accessing higher education. It will create incentives for students to enroll in sufficient credits to expedite completion of their degree as well as begin their career as part of Alaska’s workforce.

SJR 23

Senate Joint Resolution 23 will establish a cost-effective way to finance state education loans by leveraging the State’s outstanding general obligation credit ratings. Doing so will not only achieve lower costs of funds than what is otherwise available through current alternative financing structures, but will also permit some relaxation of the loan underwriting criteria which currently results in a 41% denial rate on loan applications.