News from the Alaska State Legislature, the Office of Senator Giessel
For Immediate Release: October 19, 2017

Chairs Announce Working Group Members, Formation of Advisory Group

Giessel_stamp.jpgSenator Cathy Giessel
  ~ Send Email
  ~ Web Site

ANCHORAGE – The co-chairs of the legislative working group created by House Bill 111, Sen. Cathy Giessel (R-Anchorage) and Rep. Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage), announced today the working group’s membership, along with the formation of an advisory group.

Working group members from the House joining Rep. Tarr are Rep. Andy Josephson (D-Anchorage), Rep. Dean Westlake (D-Kiana), Rep. Jason Grenn (I-Anchorage), and Rep. Dave Talerico (R-Healy). Working group members from the Senate joining Sen. Giessel are Sen. Bert Stedman (R-Sitka), Sen. Natasha von Imhof (R-Anchorage), Sen. Peter Micciche (R-Soldotna), and Sen. Bill Wielechowksi (D-Anchorage).

The formation of a legislative working group to evaluate Alaska’s fiscal system for oil and gas was part of House Bill 111, a bill that reformed Alaska’s tax credit program for oil and gas companies. The bill was signed into law in July this year, after passing both the House and Senate along strong bipartisan lines.

House Bill 111 also empowered the co-chairs of the legislative working group to form an advisory group. Rep. Tarr and Sen. Giessel announced today that the Oil and Gas Competitiveness Review Board, created in 2013, has accepted the role of being an advisory group to the legislative working group.

The co-chairs plan to schedule an organizational meeting laying out the framework shortly.

Questions can be directed to Rep. Geran Tarr at (907) 269-0144 or Sen. Cathy Giessel at (907) 269-0181.


icon-facebook.png Share Share this on Twitter Tweet

News & Videos more >

Senator Bert Stedman

Let’s Protect the Permanent Fund & Guarantee a Dividend

SITKA – Sen Bert Stedman (R-Sitka) introduced a constitutional amendment today for consideration in the upcoming legislative session to protect the Permanent Fund and guarantee a...  Full Story >>

Senator Bert Stedman

Petersburg Land Grant Bill Signed into Law

SB 28 was sponsored by Sen Bert Stedman (R-Sitka) to increase the Petersburg Borough’s land entitlement to 14,666 acres When the Petersburg Borough was created by the voters in 2013 they...  Full Story >>

Senator Peter Micciche

Senate Toughens Criminal Law

JUNEAU - Today, by a vote of 11 to 8, the Alaska Senate concurred with the House changes to Senate Bill 54 SB54 toughens Alaska criminal laws reversing some provisions of Senate Bill 91 passed...  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

Chairs Announce Working Group Members, Formation of Advisory Group

ANCHORAGE – The co-chairs of the legislative working group created by House Bill 111, Sen Cathy Giessel (R-Anchorage) and Rep Geran Tarr (D-Anchorage), announced today the working...  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

Senators Call on Lt. Gov. Mallot to Fight Ballot Box Biology

ANCHORAGE – Today, members of the Alaska Senate Majority urged Lt Gov Byron Mallott to appeal a recent ruling allowing an unconstitutional initiative to proceed...  Full Story >>

Senator John Coghill

Senators Disappointed by 9th Circuit’s Decision in Water Rights Case

ANCHORAGE – Members of the Alaska Senate Majority today expressed disappointment with the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals decision in Sturgeon v Masica, a case centered on Alaskans’...  Full Story >>

Senator Lyman Hoffman

Sen. Hoffman Thanks DOT for Swift Response to Bethel Highway Needs

BETHEL – Sen Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel, today thanked Marc Luiken, Commissioner of the Alaska Department Transportation and Public Facilities (DOT), for the Walker...  Full Story >>

Senator Pete Kelly

Statement from Sen. Kelly on Special Session Proclamation

FAIRBANKS – Sen Pete Kelly, R-Fairbanks, President of the Alaska Senate, today released the following statement in response to Gov Bill Walker’s proclamation convening the 30th...  Full Story >>

Senator Pete Kelly

Senators Respond to Ahtna’s Rejection of Klutina Settlement

FAIRBANKS – Members of the Alaska Senate Majority today responded to Ahtna, Inc ’s rejection of the Walker administration’s proposed settlement regarding public access to...  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

Bill Ending Cash Payments to Oil & Gas Companies Becomes Law

JUNEAU – Today, Gov Bill Walker signed House Bill 111 into law, legislation that ends the state's program of cash payments to companies in the oil and gas industry...  Full Story >>

Find your Senator full map