News from the Alaska State Legislature, the Office of Senator Costello
For Immediate Release: July 18, 2016

Costello Bill Helping Business Start-Ups and Promoting Innovation Signed Into Law

Costello_stamp.jpgSenator Mia Costello   Web Site    Send Email

ANCHORAGE – Alaskans have a new tool to start and invest in local businesses, thanks to legislation by Senator Mia Costello (R-Anchorage). Senate Bill 126, the Innovating Alaska Act, implements a new concept to grow Alaska’s economy through equity crowdinvesting. The bill was signed into law by the Governor today.

“Entrepreneurship and business start-ups are key to growing our state’s economy,” said Sen. Costello. “Crowdfunding is an exciting new way to create Alaskan jobs and help finance small businesses.”  

SB 126 implements a paradigm shift in business creation. It refines onerous regulations to make it easier for Alaska businesses to get capital to grow, and allows average Alaskans to invest in businesses being started in their communities. Investments made through crowdinvesting are limited to $10,000 for investors and $1 million for businesses raising capital. More than 24 states have enacted similar intra-state crowdinvesting laws.

“At a time when Alaska is facing great challenges we need to focus on the economy, not just the state budget,” said Sen. Costello. “This bill is a subtle, but potent way to move Alaska’s economy forward through innovation.”

For more information, please contact Weston Eiler in Senator Costello’s office at (907) 465-4962.


Share this on Twitter Tweet icon-facebook.png Share

News & Videos more >

Senator John Coghill

Statement from Sen. Coghill on Passing of his Father, Jack Coghill

JUNEAU – John Bruce “Jack” Coghill passed away this morning at the age of 93 of natural causes.  Full Story >>

Senator Bert Stedman

Co-Chairs of Senate Finance Comment on Governor’s Budget Proposal

JUNEAU – Today, the co-chairs of the Senate Finance Committee, Senator Bert Stedman (R-Sitka) and Senator Natasha von Imhof (R-Anchorage), commented on Governor Michael J....  Full Story >>

Senator Click Bishop

Bishop introduces bill to re-establish education head tax

With many in Juneau anticipating budget cuts Wednesday from the governor, a legislator has introduced a bill to establish a $30 education head tax to help raise money for school...  Full Story >>

Senator David Wilson

Statement from Sen. Wilson on Dunleavy Admin’s API Decision

JUNEAU –Today, Senator David Wilson (R-Wasilla), chairman of the Senate Health and Social Services Committee, released the following statement in response to the Dunleavy...  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

Senate Majority Focused on Crime, Budget & Protecting Permanent Fund

JUNEAU – The 31st Alaska Legislature convened today, and with it a new 14-member Senate Majority laid out its vision for Alaska: A government that responsibly budgets, prioritizes...  Full Story >>

Senator Peter Micciche

Sen. Micciche Bill Closes “Schneider Loopholes” for Sexual Assault

JUNEAU — Today, Senator Peter Micciche (R-Soldotna) filed Senate Bill 12 to eliminate the “Schneider Loopholes” in Alaska’s criminal code. The case of Justin Schneider, the man...  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

Senate Majority Welcomes Significant Step toward ANWR Development

ANCHORAGE – Members of the Alaska Senate Majority today welcomed a significant step toward opening the 1002 area of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR) for responsible resource...  Full Story >>

Senator Bert Stedman

Senate Finance Co-Chairs Comment on Preliminary Budget

ANCHORAGE – Today, co-chairs of the Senate Finance Committee, Senator Bert Stedman (R-Sitka) and Senator Natasha von Imhof (R-Anchorage), commented on Governor Mike Dunleavy’s...  Full Story >>

Majority Press Office

Senate Majority Announces Team, Caucus Agreement

ANCHORAGE – The Alaska Senate Majority today announced its complete team for the 31st Alaska Legislature, which begins Jan. 15.  Full Story >>

Senator Cathy Giessel

New Alaska Senate Majority Announced

ANCHORAGE – Members of the Alaska Senate today formed a new majority organization including all 13 Republican senators.  Full Story >>

Find your Senator full map