Senate Passes Sense of the Senate Committing to Energy Relief for Alaskans

Updated: Apr 5

Today, the Alaska State Senate unanimously passed a Sense of the Senate solidifying their commitment to providing Alaskans energy relief at the gas pump. The Sense of the Senate, sponsored by Senator Elvi Gray-Jackson (D-Anchorage) and co-sponsored by all other present senators, outlines the Senate’s commitment to Alaskans to work together with the House of Representatives and the Governor to temporarily suspend Alaska motor fuels tax.

Due to Russia’s illegal invasion of the democratically sovereign nation of Ukraine, the United States has banned the import of Russian oil and gas, causing oil prices to skyrocket. Over the past few weeks, Alaskans have seen the price of gasoline raise by almost $1 in most locations.

“We’ve been weathering a multi-year pandemic, rapid inflation, and now an energy crisis. Alaskan families are hurting, and they need money in their pockets now,” said Senator Elvi Gray-Jackson. “This isn’t about party politics. This is about the state stepping up to meet the moment for its people. While there are many unknowns with the length and severity of the crisis at hand, the suspension of the state motor fuels tax is a step we can take now to immediately help Alaskans.”

“The trucking community is hurting right now because of high fuel prices, and they, unfortunately, have to pass that cost on to the consumer. Suspending the motor fuels tax would provide some much-needed relief to both the trucking community and the consumer at the store,” said Senator Robert Myers (R-North Pole).

Senate President Micciche (R-Soldotna) said, “I appreciate Senator Gray-Jackson’s leadership and every other senator coming together today in this commitment to Alaskans. We recognize that our constituents need relief right now to assist with dramatically increasing energy costs. We were unanimously united this week supporting Ukraine and pushing back on Russian aggression. We were unanimously united on the push for U.S. energy security, and Alaska’s role in providing energy resources of all kinds. Today we demonstrated our unanimous teamwork in supporting Alaskans on reducing energy costs during these difficult times.”

The Sense of the Senate was co-sponsored by Senator Robert Myers, Senator Roger Holland (R-Anchorage), Senator David Wilson (R-Wasilla), Senator Bill Wielechowski (D-Anchorage), Senator Jesse Kiehl (D-Juneau), Senator Scott Kawasaki (D-Fairbanks), Senator Tom Begich (D-Anchorage), Senator Shelley Hughes (R-Palmer), Senator Mike Shower (R-Wasilla), Senator Gary Stevens (R-Kodiak), Senate President Peter Micciche, Senator Josh Revak (R-Anchorage), and Senator Lora Reinbold (R-Eagle River).

The Senate adopted the Sense of the Senate unanimously.