Senate Votes to Extend Citizens’ Advisory Commission Federal Areas

Updated: May 10, 2021

JUNEAU – The Alaska Senate today passed Senate Bill 101, extending the Citizens’ Advisory Commission on Federal Management Areas in Alaska (CACFA) to June 30, 2029.

CACFA is responsible for actively defending the individual rights of Alaskans under the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA) – a federal law signed in 1980 governing federal public lands in Alaska.

“Now is more important than ever to ensure our rights as Alaskans are protected against federal encroachment,” said Senator Josh Revak, R-Anchorage, chairman of the Senate Resources Committee. “The continuation of this important commission and their work is critically needed to achieve the full rights that were promised to us by the federal government.”

Under the ANILCA compromise, Congress designated more than 104 million acres under permanent federal ownership as conservation system units (e.g., parks, preserves, wildlife refuges, wilderness areas) with many unique provisions enabling Alaskans to maintain their traditions and livelihoods, and accommodating the social and economic needs of both the state and Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) corporations.

Those provisions included opportunities for the state, its communities, and rural populations to access and develop inholdings, allotments, and adjacent lands; construct and maintain transportation and utility systems; access, manage, and use state lands and waterways; retain state management of fish and wildlife; and provide for access and necessary facilities on federal lands.

Between ANILCA, ANCSA, and the Alaska Statehood Act, Alaska is regulated under a highly unique and complex legislative web. CACFA’s mission is to help Alaskans navigate these rules and work with federal agencies to ensure congressional intent is faithfully implemented.

SB 101 passed the Senate by a vote of 18-1. It is now on its way to the Alaska House of Representatives for consideration.


Media Contact:

Daniel McDonald

Alaska Senate Majority

(907) 465-4066